Eastern Illinois University Logo
Booth Library | History |

Databases

Home

Your Account

    Today: 8am - 1am

  • Wednesday: 8am - 1am
  • Thursday: 8am - 1am
  • Friday: 8am - 5pm
  • Saturday: 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday: Noon - 1am

Calendar of Hours

Books and Videos

Articles

Journals

Resources by Subject

Contact us

Academic Search Complete
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
Philosopher's Index
ERIC/EBSCO
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
Military & Government Collection
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
PsycInfo
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Biosis Previews
Academic Search Complete
SPORTDiscus
Humanities International Complete
Academic Search Complete
SciFinder
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
ERIC/EBSCO
PsycInfo
Historical Abstracts
GeoRef
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
Music Index Online
JSTOR
JSTOR
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
JSTOR
ERIC/EBSCO
America: History and Life
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V W   Z




Andy Cougill
History Librarian
Need help? aacougill@eiu.edu

History Databases

Top Picks

  • Making of America (Cornell University) Open Access
    Fulltext Articles | Primary Sources | American Social History | Roughly 1800-1925
  • Making of America (University of Michigan) Open Access
    Fulltext Books | Primary Sources | Education | Religion | History | Sociology | Technology | Science | Roughly 1800-1925
  • MAS Ultra-School Edition
    For High School Students | Full-Text Articles from 500 Popular Publications
  • MasterFILE Premier
    This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags.
  • MathSciNet Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Abstracts, reviews, and citations for Mathematics books, articles, and conference proceedings.
  • MathSciNet/EBSCO Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Abstracts, reviews, and citations for Mathematics books, articles, and conference proceedings. May be cross-searched with EBSCOhost databases on technology and education topics.
  • MEDLINE Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Medicine | Communication Disorders | Health | Nutrition | Psychology | Nursing
  • MedlinePlus Open Access
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook indexed by Buros Test Reviews Online Open Access
    Use the Buros Test Reviews Online free search site to identify test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbooks located in the Reference Room Ref. Z5814.P8 R93
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
    Guide to over 3000 contemporary test instruments | Evaluations of testing products | Comprehensive bibliography of commercially available English-language tests
  • Mergent FIS
    US company data | International company data | Annual reports
  • MetaLib: Search US Federal Government Databases Open Access
    Cross-searches US Government Databases | Archival Databases | AGRICOLA Books | AUL Index to Military Periodicals | Catalog of US Govt Pubs | EPA Publications | FDsys | Govinfo | Library of Congress | PubMed | USA.gov
  • Military & Government Collection
    Current News | All Branches of the Military | Government Agencies
  • MLA International Bibliography Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Criticism of Authors & Their Works | Fiction | Short Stories | Drama | Poetry | Rhetoric & Composition | Literary Theory | History, Theory and Practice of Teaching Language and Literature | Includes Indexing for Book Chapters and Dissertations in the Discipline
  • Modernist Journals Project Open Access
    Topics: Fulltext Modernist Journals | New Age (1907-1922) | Dana (1904-1905) | Rhythm (1911-13) | Blast (1914-15) | The Owl (1915-1923)| The Blue Review (1913) | The Tyro (1921-1922) | And More!
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Real-time access to data | Independent analysis | Stocks| Mutual funds | Exchange-traded funds | Closed-end funds
    Limited to ONE user at a time. Please log out when you are finished
  • Music Index Online Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive annual subject-author guide to music literature. Published since 1949, The Music Index contains surveyed data from more than 725 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 23 languages.

Subject Specific

Interdisciplinary and Related

  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
    Topics: Fulltext Articles | African-American Newspapers | 1800`s
  • American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library Open Access
    United States history
  • American Periodicals Series Online
    Topics: American Magazines | 1740`s - Early 1900`s
  • Black Thought and Culture
    Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Fugitive Materials | Date Range from 1700-2006
  • British Periodicals
    Topics: British History and Culture | 1680s to the 1930s
  • Chicago Tribune (Historical)
    Fulltext Articles | 1849-1990
  • Chronicling America Open Access
    Selected Fulltext Newspaper Pages | California | District of Columbia | Florida | Kentucky | Minnesota | Nebraska | New York | Texas | Utah | Virginia | 1836 to 1922
  • Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
    Topics: Fulltext Articles | New York Herald | Charleston Mercury | Richmond Enquirer | November 1, 1860 to April 15, 1865
  • Clase and Periodica
    Scholarly Articles | Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English Languages | 24 Latin American and Caribbean Countries
  • Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies Open Access
    A searchable compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. (Call Number for the print volumes located in the Book Stacks: E464 .A512)
  • Digital Image Collections Open Access
    Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.
  • Dissertations and Theses (WorldCat)
    Over 8 million records representing all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations cataloged in WorldCat.
  • English Short-Title Catalog Open Access
    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of books, pamphlets and other ephemeral materials produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    A bibliographic index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in early European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
  • Gale Primary Sources
    Cross search Gale Primary Sources | 19th Century British Theatre, Music, and Literature | 19th Century UK Periodicals | London Times Digital Archive | 19th Century US Newspapers
  • Global Newsstream
    Newspapers | US, Canadian, and Other International News | Includes current New York Times & Wall Street Journal | Newswires and News Blogs | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | 1980 to present for some titles
  • Godey's Ladys Book
    American Magazine Published for Women 1830-1898 | Fashion | Literature | Health and Hygiene | Recipes | Handicrafts | Color Plates best viewed in Chrome Browser
  • Google Scholar with EIU Electronic JournalsResearch Help
    Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the Get Full Text @ EIU link to access Booth Library`s electronic journals. View this tutorial http://booth.eiu.edu/gscholarsettings to learn how to set Google Scholar preferences for EIU journals in the generic Google Scholar.
  • Harper's Weekly
    Fulltext Articles | 1857-1889
  • HeinOnline: Government, Politics, and Law
    Trial

    Government documents | US Statutes, Congressional documents, federal agency documents | Legal research | 2600+ scholarly journals | US treaties | Classic treatises | State and federal case law | Special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law | Trial active through 3/15/19
  • HeinOnline: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law
    Slavery | United States & English-speaking world | Statutes | State and federal legal cases | Books and pamphlets
  • Historical Statistics of the United States : Earliest Times to the Present : Millennial Edition
    Published in 2006, this resource provides access to statistical data on American social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences - including economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration and trade.
  • Humanities International Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Authors | Artists | Musicians | Literature & Theater Criticism | Fiction, Short Story, Poetry, Drama Criticism | Photography | Painting | Music | Theater | Graphic Arts | Film | Contemporary Arts | Society & Culture
  • Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps
    Insurance Maps of Illinois Towns and Cities from 1867 to 1970 | Placement of Homes and Businesses | Building Sizes and Addresses | Property Boundaries, etc.
  • London Lives 1690-1800 Open Access
    London Lives has been designed to facilitate historical research on poverty, crime and illness, and on social conditions, as reflected in institutional records.
  • National Archives of the United Kingdom Open Access
    1,000 years of British history | Browse popular online collections | Does not include the collections digitised in partnership with commercial publishers.
  • New York Times (Historical)
    Full text articles | 1851-2014
  • Newspaper Library, University of Illinois Open Access
    Search for newspaper holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the "World`s Largest University Newspaper Library."
  • Old Bailey Online Open Access
    The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, 1690 to 1772. It allows access to over 210,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 3,000 men and women executed at Tyburn, free of charge for non-commercial use.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    English Words | Meaning | History | Pronunciation | Quotations
  • Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
    Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800`s | Benjamin Franklin`s Newspaper | Firsthand View of Colonial America
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Index to Popular Magazines | 1890 to 1982 | Some Linked to Fulltext Articles
  • Scopus
    Trial

    Peer-reviewed research | Citations and abstracts | Science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities | Search for cited references and author and affiliation profiles | Data from over 22,000 journals and over 150,000 books | Track, analyze, and visualize scholarly research | Trial through Oct. 12
  • Times (London) Digital Archive
    Fulltext Articles | 1785-1985
  • Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database Open Access
    Records of 35,000 Slaving Voyages | 1514 to 1866
  • Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
    History (1600-2000) of U. S. women in social movements | Primary Documents | Online Journal | Notable American Women (1971-2004) |Publications of Federal, State, and Local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005.