Image of Library
Skip Navigation

History

DatabasesjournalsResearch GuidesWeb Resources

Subject Specific Databases

America: History and Life Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations to articles in history journals with an emphasis on American history (1964 to present).

EBSCO Academic Search Premier Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Indexes over 8,000 periodicals, providing full text for over 4,500 titles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.

Historical Abstracts Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts of articles in history journals with an emphasis on world history (1972 to present).

JSTOR Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles

Project Muse Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Over 400 fulltext journal titles the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others, generally 1995 to present.

Related and Interdisciplinary Databases

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles Trial database(10/27/2009 - 11/30/2009)
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

19th Century British Library Newspapers Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles Trial database(10/27/2009 - 11/30/2009)
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

19th Century UK Periodicals . Series 2: Empire Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles Trial database(10/27/2009 - 11/30/2009)
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major new multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Series II on Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial. The collection includes titles from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.

19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
The New Readerships: Women`s, Children`s Humor and Leisure/Sport Collection offers access to a wide variety of resources for the study of British life in the 19th century, including women`s issues, social issues, and Victorian life and culture.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Collection of African-American Newspapers containing a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s.

American Periodicals Series Online Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (1741-1900)

Arts and Humanities Search Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations to articles in leading arts and humanities journals (1980 to present).

Black Thought and Culture Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

British Periodicals Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
British Periodicals traces two centuries of British history and culture from the seventeenth century through to the Victorian `age of periodicals` and beyond, comprising nearly 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s.

Brown University Modernist Journals Project Includes some full-text articles
The MJP was launched at Brown in 1995 as a Web site of digitized periodicals connected to the rise of modernism in the English-speaking world from 1890 to 1922. The site includes searchable editions of seven modernist journals: The New Age (1907–1922), Dana (1904-1905), Rhythm (1911-13), Blast (1914-15), The Owl (1915-1923), The Blue Review (1913), and The Tyro (1921-1922).

Brown University Women Writers Project Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
English texts by women before 1830. Includes texts by Renaissance Women Writers.

Chronicling America Includes some full-text articles
View newspaper pages from 1880 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Clase and Periodica Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. (1978 to present)

Congressional Universe Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Congressional Universe is a commercial web service which permits researchers to document the federal legislative process, in part since 1970, and almost in its entirety since 1993.

Dictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus Requires Library ID when used off-campus
The Corpus contains all surviving Old English materials, over 3000 different texts.

Digital Image Collections Includes some full-text articles
Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.

Dissertation Abstracts Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. (1861 to present)

Documenting the Old South Includes some full-text articles
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th Century. It includes collections of primary sources, such as diaries and letters.

Early English Books Online Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Godey's Ladys Book Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Louis Antoine Godey`s magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America (1830-1885).

Harper's Weekly Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
The database contains all the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857 - 1889) as scanned images, together with a series of indexes.

Humanities International Complete Requires Library ID when used off-campus
A collection of references to literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities, published worldwide. This database covers over 1,900 journals dating as far back as 1925, including full text for more than 770 journals.

Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Dating from 1867 to 1970, the Digital Sanborn Maps project encompasses most towns and cities in Illinois. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

InfoTrac Expanded Academic Index ASAP Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Abstracts and many complete articles from scholarly and general-interest journals in the social sciences, humanities and nontechnical sciences. (1980 to present)

IngentaConnect Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Most current source of article citations in all subject areas from 25,000 publications (1988 to present). Previously known as CARL Uncover.

ITER Requires Library ID when used off-campus
The mandate of this high-quality research tool is to provide a comprehensive bibliography of all scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European culture between 400 and 1700.

Lexis-Nexis Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Fulltext access to a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic. Includes New York Times. (1980 to present)

Making of America (Cornell University) Includes some full-text articles
Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American journal articles. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history. (roughly 1800-1925)

Making of America (University of Michigan) Includes some full-text articles
Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American books. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history in many subject areas: education, religion, history, sociology, technology, science. (roughly 1800-1925)

New York Times (historical) Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Newspaper Library, University of Illinois
Search for newspaper holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the "World`s Largest University Newspaper Library."

NoveList Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
A readers' advisory database providing details about works of fiction. It contains references to materials for all ages, including picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles, and books for adult readers. NoveList includes full-text reviews from several journals: Booklist, Kirkus, School Library Journal, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
A reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.

Oxford English Dictionary Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800's, Benjamin Franklin's newspaper provides a firsthand view of colonial America.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.

Times (London) Digital Archive Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising. (1785-1985)

Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Accesses a wealth of materials revealing the small details of life in the communities of Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War using letters, diaries, memoirs, census records, church records, government records, battle reports, speeches, and newspapers.

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database Includes some full-text articles
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade database contains records for nearly 35,000 slaving expeditions that took place between 1514 and 1866,forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers,students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

WilsonSelectPlus Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Citations, abstracts and complete articles from almost 1400 periodicals covering subjects in the general sciences, humanities, current events and business (Generally, 1994 to present, updated weekly).