- Arts/Music
- Astronomy
- Biological Sciences
- Business
- Chemistry
- Comm. Disorders
- Communication Studies
- Economics
- Education
- Ethnic/Gender Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Health/Medicine
- History
- Journalism
- Library Science
- Literature/Drama
- Math/Computer Science
- Nursing
- Philosophy/Religion
- Physical Education
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Social Sciences
- Technology
Literature/Drama



Subject Specific Databases
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

There are over 181,000 fulltext poems with biographies, commentaries, critical context, and a glossary in this database.
Humanities International Complete

A collection of references to literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities, published worldwide. This database covers over 1,900 journals dating as far back as 1925, including full text for more than 770 journals.
JSTOR

Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO )

MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1926 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and books from over 1,000 publishers.
Project Muse

Over 400 fulltext journal titles the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others, generally 1995 to present.
Related and Interdisciplinary Databases
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
(10/27/2009 - 11/30/2009)The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
(10/27/2009 - 11/30/2009)19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
19th Century UK Periodicals . Series 2: Empire
(10/27/2009 - 11/30/2009)19th Century UK Periodicals is a major new multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Series II on Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial. The collection includes titles from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection

The New Readerships: Women`s, Children`s Humor and Leisure/Sport Collection offers access to a wide variety of resources for the study of British life in the 19th century, including women`s issues, social issues, and Victorian life and culture.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

Collection of African-American Newspapers containing a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s.
America: History and Life

Citations to articles in history journals with an emphasis on American history (1964 to present).
American Periodicals Series Online

This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (1741-1900)
Arts and Humanities Search

Citations to articles in leading arts and humanities journals (1980 to present).
ARTSEARCH

ARTSEARCH is a searchable jobs database for careers in the arts. ARTSEARCH is divided into 5 main categories: Administration, Artistic, Production/Design, Career Development and Education. An advanced search using refined job categories is also available.
Black Thought and Culture

A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
British Periodicals

British Periodicals traces two centuries of British history and culture from the seventeenth century through to the Victorian `age of periodicals` and beyond, comprising nearly 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s.
Brown University Modernist Journals Project

The MJP was launched at Brown in 1995 as a Web site of digitized periodicals connected to the rise of modernism in the English-speaking world from 1890 to 1922. The site includes searchable editions of seven modernist journals: The New Age (1907–1922), Dana (1904-1905), Rhythm (1911-13), Blast (1914-15), The Owl (1915-1923), The Blue Review (1913), and The Tyro (1921-1922).
Brown University Women Writers Project

English texts by women before 1830. Includes texts by Renaissance Women Writers.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

The CLCD presently contains more than 1.4 million catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned. These records come with all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. In addition, the database contains more than 260,000 full-text reviews of children’s books from 35 reviewing sources.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective

Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
Clase and Periodica

Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. (1978 to present)
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Indexing for journals in all areas related to communication studies and mass media. CMMC offers full text for 350 titles and contains citation coverage for additional 660 sources.
Dictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus

The Corpus contains all surviving Old English materials, over 3000 different texts.
Digital Image Collections

Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.
Dissertation Abstracts

Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. (1861 to present)
Documenting the Old South

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th Century. It includes collections of primary sources, such as diaries and letters.
Early Americas Digital Archive

A collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier

Indexes over 8,000 periodicals, providing full text for over 4,500 titles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Godey's Ladys Book

Louis Antoine Godey`s magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America (1830-1885).
Harper's Weekly

The database contains all the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857 - 1889) as scanned images, together with a series of indexes.
Historical Abstracts

Citations and abstracts of articles in history journals with an emphasis on world history (1972 to present).
Horn Book Guide

The Horn Book Guide publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people. Gathered here are more than 49,000 reviews published between 1989 and the current year!
InfoTrac Expanded Academic Index ASAP

Abstracts and many complete articles from scholarly and general-interest journals in the social sciences, humanities and nontechnical sciences. (1980 to present)
IngentaConnect

Most current source of article citations in all subject areas from 25,000 publications (1988 to present). Previously known as CARL Uncover.
ITER

The mandate of this high-quality research tool is to provide a comprehensive bibliography of all scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European culture between 400 and 1700.
Library Literature and Information Science

Library Literature & Information Science, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, indexes articles and book reviews from key library and information science periodicals. This database contains over 242,000 English and non-English records dating back to 1980.
Making of America (Cornell University)

Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American journal articles. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history. (roughly 1800-1925)
Making of America (University of Michigan)

Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American books. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history in many subject areas: education, religion, history, sociology, technology, science. (roughly 1800-1925)
Middle English Dictionary

The print Middle English Dictionary (MED) has been described as "the greatest achievement in medieval scholarship in America." Its 15,000 pages offer a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips, the largest collection of this kind available. This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED.
New York Times (historical)

The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Newspaper Library, University of Illinois
Search for newspaper holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the "World`s Largest University Newspaper Library."
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (NCSE)

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse) is a free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890). All six journals are segmented to article level, and may be downloaded freely.
NoveList

A readers' advisory database providing details about works of fiction. It contains references to materials for all ages, including picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles, and books for adult readers. NoveList includes full-text reviews from several journals: Booklist, Kirkus, School Library Journal, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

A reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
Oxford English Dictionary

The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800's, Benjamin Franklin's newspaper provides a firsthand view of colonial America.
Readers' Guide Retrospective

Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.
TeachingBooks.net

Watch K-12 authors and illustrators in their studios, find book guides and teaching activities, and link to author web sites through this valuable resource for children's and young adult literature.
Times (London) Digital Archive

Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising. (1785-1985)
Ulrichs Periodical Directory

Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War

Accesses a wealth of materials revealing the small details of life in the communities of Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War using letters, diaries, memoirs, census records, church records, government records, battle reports, speeches, and newspapers.
Victorian Database Online
Lists editions, books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 1999 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online both cumulates and significantly expands the annual bibliographies in Shakespeare Quarterly.
Wright American Fiction 1851-1875

The Wright American Fiction online collection attempts to include every novel published in the United States from 1851 to 1875. There are currently 2,887 texts included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. Produced by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC).
