Image of Library
Skip Navigation

Biological Sciences

DatabasesjournalsResearch GuidesWeb Resources

Subject Specific Databases

AGRICOLA (FirstSearch) Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations to journal articles in agriculture, nutrition, and related fields of biology, ecology, and natural science. (1970 to present)

Biological and Agricultural Index Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Biological & Agricultural Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, provides access to more than 490,000 citations from agricultural and biological literature. This database indexes articles, reports of meetings, review articles, special supplements, and book reviews. (1983 to present)

Biosis Previews Requires Library ID when used off-campus Multidata Search  Repeat Search
Citations to worldwide literature in biology, life sciences, environmental and biomedical research. (1969 to present)

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts on environmental science and pollution management. (1994 to present)

Zoological Record Requires Library ID when used off-campus Multidata Search  Repeat Search
A comprehensive index to zoological literature. Records cover every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, and so forth. The database professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings. (1978-present)

Related and Interdisciplinary Databases

American Periodicals Series Online Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (1741-1900)

Article1st Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Citations and many complete articles from 12,000 journals in all subjects. (Generally, 1990 to present)

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world`s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. Contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.

Clase and Periodica Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. (1978 to present)

Digital Image Collections Includes some full-text articles
Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.

Dissertation Abstracts Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. (1861 to present)

Early English Books Online Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
ELS integrates current theory, practice, and understanding of all basic and applied aspects of the life sciences, placing particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology. ELS contains Over 3,000 original articles contributed by 5,000 of the world’s leading scientists.

GreenFile Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

Household Products Database Includes some full-text articles
Lists health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers for over 4,000 consumer brands. Research products by name, category or chemical ingredient.

InfoTrac Expanded Academic Index ASAP Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Abstracts and many complete articles from scholarly and general-interest journals in the social sciences, humanities and nontechnical sciences. (1980 to present)

IngentaConnect Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Most current source of article citations in all subject areas from 25,000 publications (1988 to present). Previously known as CARL Uncover.

JSTOR Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles

Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)
OWL is a compilation of citations and abstracts from the worldwide journals, conference proceedings, reports, and doctoral dissertations that pertain to the science of ornithology.(Generally 1953-present)

PLoS (Public Library of Science) Biology Includes some full-text articles
Peer reviewed articles on biological topics

PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Search MEDLINE though PubMed with access to full-text articles from over 1000 electronic journals provided by Booth Library. Also provides call numbers for print journals at Booth Library. (1950 to present)

Readers' Guide Retrospective Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.

WilsonSelectPlus Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Citations, abstracts and complete articles from almost 1400 periodicals covering subjects in the general sciences, humanities, current events and business (Generally, 1994 to present, updated weekly).