- Arts/Music
- Astronomy
- Biological Sciences
- Business
- Chemistry
- Comm. Disorders
- Communication Studies
- Economics
- Education
- Ethnic/Gender Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Health/Medicine
- History
- Journalism
- Library Science
- Literature/Drama
- Math/Computer Science
- Nursing
- Philosophy/Religion
- Physical Education
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Social Sciences
- Technology
Political Science



Subject Specific Databases
Congressional Universe

Congressional Universe is a commercial web service which permits researchers to document the federal legislative process, in part since 1970, and almost in its entirety since 1993.
EBSCO Military & Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Lexis-Nexis

Fulltext access to a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic. Includes New York Times. (1980 to present)
PAIS

Citations to articles in all areas of political science, public administration and international relations (Generally 1972 to present).
Related and Interdisciplinary Databases
Article1st

Citations and many complete articles from 12,000 journals in all subjects. (Generally, 1990 to present)
Chicago Tribune

Access to the Chicago Tribune newspaper from 1985 to the present.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier

Indexes over 8,000 periodicals, providing full text for over 4,500 titles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
EconLit

Citations and abstracts for articles from international journals, books, dissertations and working papers (1969 to present).
Government Information on the Internet

The Federal Register, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, and other State and federal government information available online.
GPO Monthly Catalog

Citations to materials on all subjects published by the U.S. government (July 1976 to present).
GreenFile

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Historical Abstracts

Citations and abstracts of articles in history journals with an emphasis on world history (1972 to present).
ICPSR

Access to a collection of numeric raw data from public and private research sources. You must create your own login in order to download the data.
Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps

Dating from 1867 to 1970, the Digital Sanborn Maps project encompasses most towns and cities in Illinois. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
InfoTrac Expanded Academic Index ASAP

Abstracts and many complete articles from scholarly and general-interest journals in the social sciences, humanities and nontechnical sciences. (1980 to present)
International Financial Statistics

International Financial Statistics (IFS Online) is a standard source of statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It contains time series data from 1948. IFS reports, for most countries, current data on international payments, inflation, and deflation (exchange rates, liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts).
JSTOR

Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles
New York Times (historical)

The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProCon.org

"Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."
Project Muse

Over 400 fulltext journal titles the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others, generally 1995 to present.
Public Agenda Online
Summaries of current social issues published by Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization.
RAND Online Publications

RAND, a think tank based in Santa Monica, California, is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis. Their online publications include full-text summaries of recent research on the following topics:The Arts, Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and Environment, Health and Health Care, International Affairs, Latin America, Methodology, National Security, Population and Aging, Public Safety, Science and Technology, Substance Abuse, Terrorism and Homeland Security, Transportation and Infrastructure, Workforce and Workplace.
Readers' Guide Retrospective

Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.
Social Sciences Abstracts

Citations and abstracts of journal articles in all areas of the social sciences (1983 to present).
Statesman's Yearbook

An electronic version of the printed book, this database provides coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. It also provides extensive reading lists and web links for further research.
