- Arts/Music
- Astronomy
- Biological Sciences
- Business
- Chemistry
- Comm. Disorders
- Communication Studies
- Economics
- Education
- Ethnic/Gender Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Health/Medicine
- History
- Journalism
- Library Science
- Literature/Drama
- Math/Computer Science
- Nursing
- Philosophy/Religion
- Physical Education
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Social Sciences
- Technology
Pre-1950 Full Text



Subject Specific Databases
19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection

The New Readerships: Women`s, Children`s Humor and Leisure/Sport Collection offers access to a wide variety of resources for the study of British life in the 19th century, including women`s issues, social issues, and Victorian life and culture.
American Periodicals Series Online

This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (1741-1900)
Black Thought and Culture

A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Chicago Tribune (historical)

The Historical Chicago Tribune gives researchers quick, accurate Web access to nearly 135 years of a newspaper intimately tied to the development of the historic city of Chicago and the growth of the Midwest and the nation.
JSTOR

Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles
Making of America (Cornell University)

Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American journal articles. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history. (roughly 1800-1925)
Making of America (University of Michigan)

Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American books. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history in many subject areas: education, religion, history, sociology, technology, science. (roughly 1800-1925)
New York Times (historical)

The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Times (London) Digital Archive

Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising. (1785-1985)
Related and Interdisciplinary Databases
19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection

The New Readerships: Women`s, Children`s Humor and Leisure/Sport Collection offers access to a wide variety of resources for the study of British life in the 19th century, including women`s issues, social issues, and Victorian life and culture.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

Collection of African-American Newspapers containing a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s.
British Periodicals

British Periodicals traces two centuries of British history and culture from the seventeenth century through to the Victorian `age of periodicals` and beyond, comprising nearly 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s.
Brown University Women Writers Project

English texts by women before 1830. Includes texts by Renaissance Women Writers.
Chronicling America

View newspaper pages from 1880 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective

Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
Dictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus

The Corpus contains all surviving Old English materials, over 3000 different texts.
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Godey's Ladys Book

Louis Antoine Godey`s magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America (1830-1885).
Harper's Weekly

The database contains all the pages of Harper's Weekly (1857 - 1889) as scanned images, together with a series of indexes.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (NCSE)

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse) is a free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890). All six journals are segmented to article level, and may be downloaded freely.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800's, Benjamin Franklin's newspaper provides a firsthand view of colonial America.
Readers' Guide Retrospective

Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War

Accesses a wealth of materials revealing the small details of life in the communities of Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War using letters, diaries, memoirs, census records, church records, government records, battle reports, speeches, and newspapers.
