Image of Library
Skip Navigation

Social Sciences

DatabasesjournalsResearch GuidesWeb Resources

Subject Specific Databases

Social Sciences Abstracts Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts of journal articles in all areas of the social sciences (1983 to present).

Related and Interdisciplinary Databases

19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
The New Readerships: Women`s, Children`s Humor and Leisure/Sport Collection offers access to a wide variety of resources for the study of British life in the 19th century, including women`s issues, social issues, and Victorian life and culture.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Covers essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains 70,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline (1990-to present)

American Periodicals Series Online Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (1741-1900)

Article1st Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Citations and many complete articles from 12,000 journals in all subjects. (Generally, 1990 to present)

Black Thought and Culture Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

Chicago Tribune Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Access to the Chicago Tribune newspaper from 1985 to the present.

Clase and Periodica Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. (1978 to present)

Communication & Mass Media Complete Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Indexing for journals in all areas related to communication studies and mass media. CMMC offers full text for 350 titles and contains citation coverage for additional 660 sources.

Digital Image Collections Includes some full-text articles
Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.

Dissertation Abstracts Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. (1861 to present)

Early English Books Online Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

EBSCO Academic Search Premier Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Indexes over 8,000 periodicals, providing full text for over 4,500 titles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.

EBSCO Military & Government Collection Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

EconLit Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts for articles from international journals, books, dissertations and working papers (1969 to present).

Government Information on the Internet Includes some full-text articles
The Federal Register, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, and other State and federal government information available online.

GPO Monthly Catalog Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations to materials on all subjects published by the U.S. government (July 1976 to present).

GreenFile Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

Historical Abstracts Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Citations and abstracts of articles in history journals with an emphasis on world history (1972 to present).

Humanities International Complete Requires Library ID when used off-campus
A collection of references to literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities, published worldwide. This database covers over 1,900 journals dating as far back as 1925, including full text for more than 770 journals.

ICPSR Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Access to a collection of numeric raw data from public and private research sources. You must create your own login in order to download the data.

Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Dating from 1867 to 1970, the Digital Sanborn Maps project encompasses most towns and cities in Illinois. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

InfoTrac Expanded Academic Index ASAP Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Abstracts and many complete articles from scholarly and general-interest journals in the social sciences, humanities and nontechnical sciences. (1980 to present)

IngentaConnect Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Most current source of article citations in all subject areas from 25,000 publications (1988 to present). Previously known as CARL Uncover.

JSTOR Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles

Lexis-Nexis Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Fulltext access to a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic. Includes New York Times. (1980 to present)

Making of America (Cornell University) Includes some full-text articles
Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American journal articles. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history. (roughly 1800-1925)

Making of America (University of Michigan) Includes some full-text articles
Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American books. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history in many subject areas: education, religion, history, sociology, technology, science. (roughly 1800-1925)

New York Times (historical) Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProCon.org Includes some full-text articles
"Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."

Public Agenda Online
Summaries of current social issues published by Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization.

RAND Online Publications Includes some full-text articles
RAND, a think tank based in Santa Monica, California, is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis. Their online publications include full-text summaries of recent research on the following topics:The Arts, Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and Environment, Health and Health Care, International Affairs, Latin America, Methodology, National Security, Population and Aging, Public Safety, Science and Technology, Substance Abuse, Terrorism and Homeland Security, Transportation and Infrastructure, Workforce and Workplace.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Requires Library ID when used off-campus
Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.

WilsonSelectPlus Requires Library ID when used off-campus Includes some full-text articles
Citations, abstracts and complete articles from almost 1400 periodicals covering subjects in the general sciences, humanities, current events and business (Generally, 1994 to present, updated weekly).