- Arts/Music
- Astronomy
- Biological Sciences
- Business
- Chemistry
- Comm. Disorders
- Communication Studies
- Economics
- Education
- Ethnic/Gender Studies
- Geography
- Geology
- Health/Medicine
- History
- Journalism
- Library Science
- Literature/Drama
- Math/Computer Science
- Nursing
- Philosophy/Religion
- Physical Education
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Social Sciences
- Technology
Chemistry



Subject Specific Databases
ACS Publications

Publications by the American Chemical Society.
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals

Search MEDLINE though PubMed with access to full-text articles from over 1000 electronic journals provided by Booth Library. Also provides call numbers for print journals at Booth Library. (1950 to present)
SciFinder Scholar 2007
Link to research guides and tutorials on how to effectively use SciFinder Scholar, the premier database for researching journal literature in Chemisty and Physical Sciences. SciFinder Scholar is available on two computers at the Reference Desk and in the Chemisty Computer Lab.
Related and Interdisciplinary Databases
ADS Abstract ServiceThe Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4 million records. Covers Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and ArXiv preprints. (Generally 1975 to present)
AGRICOLA (FirstSearch)

Citations to journal articles in agriculture, nutrition, and related fields of biology, ecology, and natural science. (1970 to present)
Aldrich Spectral Viewer

The Aldrich Spectral Viewer is an electronic reference book on CD-ROM that contains thousands of actual spectra from the Aldrich spectral libraries. The CD-ROM is loaded on a localserver and you must download special software to use it.
Applied Science and Technology

Citations and abstracts of journal articles in applied science and technology. (1983 to present)
Article1st

Citations and many complete articles from 12,000 journals in all subjects. (Generally, 1990 to present)
Biosis Previews
Multidata Search <Repeat SearchCitations to worldwide literature in biology, life sciences, environmental and biomedical research. (1969 to present)
CAplusSM Core Journal Coverage List with Journal Title Abbreviations
The list is sorted alphabetically by the full journal title and also includes the journal abbreviation, CODEN, and publication frequency. This is not the full list of publications covered by CAS, and the list is subject to change.
Dissertation Abstracts

Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. (1861 to present)
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier

Indexes over 8,000 periodicals, providing full text for over 4,500 titles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

ELS integrates current theory, practice, and understanding of all basic and applied aspects of the life sciences, placing particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology. ELS contains Over 3,000 original articles contributed by 5,000 of the world’s leading scientists.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Citations and abstracts on environmental science and pollution management. (1994 to present)
GeoBase

Citations and abstracts of worldwide literature on geology, geography, and ecology. (1980 to present)
GeoRef

Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources.
InfoTrac Expanded Academic Index ASAP

Abstracts and many complete articles from scholarly and general-interest journals in the social sciences, humanities and nontechnical sciences. (1980 to present)
IngentaConnect

Most current source of article citations in all subject areas from 25,000 publications (1988 to present). Previously known as CARL Uncover.
Lexis-Nexis

Fulltext access to a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic. Includes New York Times. (1980 to present)
MathSciNet

A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. Provides access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
Readers' Guide Retrospective

Index to popular periodical resources covering a wide range of topics. Readers` Guide Retrospective provides indexing from 1890-1982.
Scitation

Includes AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database, which contains bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics. (1894-Present)
SPORTDiscus

Citations for articles and books in recreation, leisure studies, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness; the psychology, history, and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning (1800 to present)
