- Biological Sciences
- Comm. Disorders
- Communication Studies
- Ethnic/Gender Studies
- Family and Consumer Sciences
- Kinesiology & Sports Studies
- Library Science
- Math/Computer Science
- Political Science
- Renewable Energy
- Social Sciences
Subject Specific DatabasesAcademic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers citation level indexing and unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women`s studies, zoology and many other fields. (1887 to present)
America: History and Life
Citations to articles in history journals with an emphasis on American history (1964 to present)
Citations and abstracts of articles in history journals with an emphasis on world history (1972 to present).
Digital archive of over 1,000 core academic journals. A complete archive of titles digitized starting with the very first issue of the journal. Browse Titles
Over 400 fulltext journal titles the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others, generally 1995 to present.
Related and Interdisciplinary Databases19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection
The New Readerships: Women`s, Children`s Humor and Leisure/Sport Collection offers access to a wide variety of resources for the study of British life in the 19th century, including women`s issues, social issues, and Victorian life and culture.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Collection of African-American Newspapers containing a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s.
American History in Video
The collection includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries.
American Periodicals Series Online
This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (1741-1900)
Black Thought and Culture
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
British Periodicals traces two centuries of British history and culture from the seventeenth century through to the Victorian `age of periodicals` and beyond, comprising nearly 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s.
Brown University Modernist Journals Project
The MJP was launched at Brown in 1995 as a Web site of digitized periodicals connected to the rise of modernism in the English-speaking world from 1890 to 1922. The site includes searchable editions of seven modernist journals: The New Age (1907–1922), Dana (1904-1905), Rhythm (1911-13), Blast (1914-15), The Owl (1915-1923), The Blue Review (1913), and The Tyro (1921-1922).
Brown University Women Writers Online
English texts by women before 1830. Includes texts by Renaissance Women Writers.
Career Cruising is an online career guidance and planning system. Use these tools to find the right career, explore education and training options, and build your own portfolio.
View newspaper pages from 1880 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
Clase and Periodica
Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. (1978 to present)
Dictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus
The Corpus contains all surviving Old English materials, over 3000 different texts.
Digital Image Collections
Various digital photograph resources either created by or licensed to Booth Library.
Dissertations and Theses (WorldCat)
Over 8 million records representing all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations cataloged in WorldCat.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th Century. It includes collections of primary sources, such as diaries and letters.
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
English Short-Title Catalog
The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A bibliographic index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in early European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Godey's Ladys Book
Louis Antoine Godey`s magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America (1830-1885).
The database contains all the pages of Harper`s Weekly (1857 - 1889) as scanned images, together with a series of indexes.
Historical Statistics of the United States : Earliest Times to the Present : Millennial Edition
Published in 2006, this resource provides access to statistical data on American social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences - including economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration and trade.
Humanities International Complete
A collection of references to literary, scholarly and creative journals in the humanities, published worldwide. This database covers over 1,900 journals dating as far back as 1925, including full text for more than 770 journals.
Illinois Sanborn Insurance Maps
Dating from 1867 to 1970, the Digital Sanborn Maps project encompasses most towns and cities in Illinois. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Most current source of article citations in all subject areas from 25,000 publications (1988 to present). Previously known as CARL Uncover.
The mandate of this high-quality research tool is to provide a comprehensive bibliography of all scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European culture between 400 and 1700.
Fulltext access to a wide range of newspapers, business, legal, medical and political information, both foreign and domestic. Includes New York Times. (1980 to present)
Making of America (Cornell University)
Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American journal articles. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history. (roughly 1800-1925)
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Fulltext of selected nineteenth-century American books. An important body of primary sources pertaining to American social history in many subject areas: education, religion, history, sociology, technology, science. (roughly 1800-1925)
New York Times (historical)
The New York Times (1851-2009) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Newspaper Library, University of Illinois
Search for newspaper holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the "World`s Largest University Newspaper Library."
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
A reference work providing 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. This database is restricted to ONE user at a time – please logoff when you finish your session to reset access for the next patron.
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800`s, Benjamin Franklin`s newspaper provides a firsthand view of colonial America.
Provides indexing of many Congressional publications from 1789 to the present, including Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index to popular magazines published from 1890 to 1982 covering a wide range of topics. (1890-1982)
Salem History Online
Online access to Salem Press reference sets: Decades (1920s-2000s); Great Events in History, Great Lives, Milestone Documents and Great Athletes.
Times (London) Digital Archive
Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising. (1785-1985)
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
Accesses a wealth of materials revealing the small details of life in the communities of Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War using letters, diaries, memoirs, census records, church records, government records, battle reports, speeches, and newspapers.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade database contains records for nearly 35,000 slaving expeditions that took place between 1514 and 1866,forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers,students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
108 document projects and document archives that interpret and present materials organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, including an online journal that publishes new issues twice a year, in March and September. The Scholar`s Edition also provides access to an online edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary, Notable American Women (1971-2004) and a digital archive, consisting of 90,000 pages of publications of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005.