|
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University
A Selected List of Resources
|
To Find Books Browse the Shelves in these Call Numbers for the following
Subject areas:
- PN1009 (Stacks, Reference and Ballenger Teachers Center) - Books about
Children's literature
- Z1037 (Stacks and Ballenger Teachers Center) - Bibliographies of
Children's literature
- 800 (Ballenger Teachers Center) - Picture Books for Children
- 813 (Ballenger Teachers Center) - Chapter Books for Children
To Use the Online Catalog, Try the Following Subject Headings for Books
about Children's Literature:
Use BROWSE SUBJECT mode to obtain related terms and subheadings
- Bibliography - United States - Best Books - Children's Literature
- Bibliography - United States - Best Books - Young Adult Literature
- Children - Books and Reading
- Children's Literature - Bibliography
To find children's books
about particular topics, perform a keyword search with the subject and the word
"juvenile". (e.g. <animals and juvenile> for children's books about
animals)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS and DICTIONARIES
- Carruth, Gorton.
The young reader's companion
BTC REF PN1008.5.C373 1993
- International companion encyclopedia of children's literature
PN1008.5.I57 1996
- Rudman, Masha Kabakow.
Children's literature: An issues
approach BTC REF PN1009.A1R8 1995
GUIDES
- Denman-West, Margaret W.
Children's literature: A guide to
information sources BTC REF Z1037.D35 1998
Electronic:
These resources are available to students, faculty, and staff at http://www.library.eiu.edu
- ERIC
Click Magazines, Journals,
and More, then choose Resources by Subject, and then pick Education
Choose ERIC/EBSCO or ERIC/Ovid. Microfiche for ERIC documents
is in the 1000 Level North; recent ERIC documents are available online.
Subject headings to
try include:
Children's literature; Picture books; Adolescent literature; Fairy tales;
Nursery rhymes; and Reading materials.
- MLA
Under Literature/Drama, in
Resources by Subject Try a keyword search using the search terms
"Audience" and
"Children".
- Library Literature
Under Education, in Resources by
Subject Use the subject heading "Children's
literature". General Article Indexes:
Choose General Article Indexes under Magazines, Journals, and More
- Info Trac Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Do a keyword search with the words
"Children" and
"Literature".
- EBSCO Academic Search Premier
Subject headings to try include: Children's
literature; Picture books for children; Children's literature - Bibliography.
- Periodical Abstracts
Try a keyword search using "Children's
literature".
Other Electronic Resources
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Under
Resources by Subject, then Education.
An online searchable bibliography of children's books, including
reviews.
- NoveList
Under Resources by Subject, then Education. Uses
multiple search strategies to locate books. Also includes "Features for
Teachers."
- TeachingBooks.net
Under Resources by Subject, then Education. Includes videos of authors
talking about their books; also book guides and teaching activities.
SELECTED JOURNALS and MAGAZINESThese are all
available in the Periodicals Area (1000 Level Atrium). Current copies are behind
service desk.
- Horn Book Magazine (Z1037.A1A15)
- Instructor (L11.I532X and L11.I533X)
- Language Arts (LB1576.A1E6)
- Reading Horizons (LB1050.R398X)
- Reading Improvement (LB1050.R4X)
- Reading Teacher (LB1573.R28)
- School Library Journal (Z675.S3S29)
- Lion and the Unicorn (PN1009.A1L54)
In the book stacks, also available online
BIBLIOGRAPHIESThese can be a good way to find other
sources of information about your topic. They often give summaries of books as
well as lists of materials on a particular subject area.
- Adventuring with books: A booklist for Pre-K - Grade 6
BTC REF Z1037.N346 1993
- Anderson, Celia.
Nonsense literature for children: Aesop to
Seuss PR468.N6A53 1989
- Anderson, Vicki.
Sequels in children's literature: An annotated
bibliography of books in succession, K-6 BTC REF
Z1037.A542 1998
- Association for Library Service to Children.
Selecting materials
for children and young adults Z1037.A1A86 1980
- Barstow, Barbara and Judith Riggle.
Beyond picture books: A guide
to first readers BTC REF Z1037.B278 1995
- Carroll, Frances Laverne.
More exciting, funny, scary, short,
different, and sad bookskids like about animals, science, ports,
families, songs and other things BTC REF Z1037.C2941992
- Children's Catalog BTC REF Z1037.C45x 1991
- Cianciolo, Patricia J.
Picture books for
children BTC REF Z1037.C565 1997
- Colborn, Candy.
What do children read next?: A reader's guide to
fiction for children BTC REF Z1037.C675 1994
- Coody, Betty.
Using literature with young
children Z1037.C7661992
- Freeman, Judy.
More books kids will sit still for: A read-aloud
guide BTC REF Z1037.F848 1995
- Friedberg, Joan Brest; June B. Mullins; Adelaide Weir Sukiennik.
Portraying persons with disabilities: An annotated
bibliography of nonfiction for children and teenagers BTC
REF Z1037.9.F735 1992
- Gillespie, John T. and Corinne J. Naden.
Best books for children:
Preschool through grade 6 BTC REF Z1037.G48 1990
- Gillis, Ruth J.
Children's books for times of
stress BTC REF Z1037.A1G54
- Hearne, Betsy Gould.
Choosing books for children: a commonsense
guide Z1037.A1H42
- Hobson, Margaret and Jennifer Madden.
Children's fiction
sourcebook: A survey of children's books for 6-13 year
olds BTC REF Z1037.H647 1995
- Jones, Dolores Blythe.
Children's literature awards and winners: a
directory of prizes BTC REF Z1037.A2C545 1994
- Kids' favorite books:
Children's choices
1989-1991 BTC REF Z1037.K53x 1992
- Lima, Carolyn and John A. Lima.
A to Zoo: Subject access to
children's picture books BTC REF Z1037.L715 2006 (There are older editions in Bookstacks)
- Middle and junior high school library catalog BTC REF
Z1037.J854
- Miller-Lachman, Lyn.
Our family, our friends, our world: An
annotated guide to significant multicultural books for children and
teenagers BTC REF Z1037.M654 1992
- More kids' favorite books:
A compilation of children's choices
1992-1994 BTC REF Z1037.K53x 1995
- Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A guide to the Medal and Honor books:
19th ed BTC REF Z1037.A2N474 199x
- Odean, Kathleen.
Great books for girls: More than 600 books to
inspire today's girls and tomorrow's women BTC REF
Z1037.O25 1997
- Odean, Kathleen.
Great books for boys: More than 600 books for boys
2 to 14 BTC REF Z1037.O24 1998
- Rasinski, Timothy V.
Sensitive issues: An annotated guide to
children's literature, K-6 BTC REF Z1037.R23 1992
- Richey, Virginia H.
Wordless / Almost Wordless picture books: A
guide BTC REF Z1037.R47 1992
- Teachers' favorite books for kids:
Teachers' choices
1989-1993 PN1009.A1 T41994X
- Thomas, James L.
Play learn and grow: An annotated guide to the
best books and materials for very young children BTC
REF Z1037.T46 1992
- Timeless classics (GOV Docs)NF3.2:C56/995
- Williams, Jane A.
Who reads what when: Literature selections for
children ages three through thirteen
Z1037.W6741998
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCESThese contain information about
people associated with the field of children's literature, both historical and
modern.
- American writers for children since 1960 BTC REF
PN451.D53X
- Junior Authors and Illustrators a series (now nine books) with
autobiographical and biographical entries from popular children's and young
adult's authors and illustrators BTC REF
PN1009.A1S3936
- Rollock, Barbara.
Black Authors and Illustrators of Children's
Books: A Biographical Dictionary Z1037.R63 1988
- Something About the Author a multi-volume series with biographies
and lists of authors' works BTC REF PN451.S6
CRITICAL REVIEW SOURCES
- Children's Literature Review -
A critical discussion of children's
books BTC REF PN1009.A1C5139
INTERNET SOURCESThese are great sources of
information about children's books and authors. As always, remember to
carefully evaluate any information you find on the Internet.
Literature Links at the Ballenger Teachers Center website
www.library.eiu.edu/btc/links/practicalsites/literaturearts.html
Actual books online as well as information about authors, booklists, and
creative writing. Also resources for teachers. http://www.ipl.org/youth/
A wonderful site put together by a children's librarian with links to
authors and illustrators, lists of books on particular subjects, reviews, and a
special section on dragons. http://www.fairrosa.info/
Need More Help?
The Ballenger Teachers Center is staffed from 8-4 Monday through Saturday;
The phone number is 581-8442.
Outside of those hours,the reference desk at
Booth Library is always staffed during library hours. That phone number is
581-6072. If you need more help, please call and a librarian will be happy to
assist you!
|