Researching Music Topics
- Basic Reference
Sources in Music
Guide to Music Classification Numbers
RILM
Digitized Music Score Collections
Locating Materials through Booth Library
Locating Books and ArticlesMusical Organizations & Societies
Locating Sound Recordings
-
Accordion
Federation of North America, Inc.
American Accordionists Association
American Banjo Fraternity
American Choral Directors Association
American Federation of Musicians
American Guild of Music
American Music Center
American Musicological Society
American Musical Instrument Society
American Orff Schulwerk Association
American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
American String Teachers Association
American Symphony Orchestra League
American Viola Society
Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians, Inc.
Association for Technology in Music Instruction
Association of Concert Bands of America, Inc.
BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.)
Center for Beethoven Studies
College Music Society
Drum Corps International
Eastern Illinois University Music Department
Electronics Representatives Association
Guild of American Luthiers
Historic Brass Society
Illinois Music Educators Association
Institute of Jazz Studies (Rutgers University)
International Association for the Study of Popular Music
International Association of Jazz Educators
International Clarinet Society
International Harps & Music Society
International Horn Society
International Society of Bassists
International Trombone Association
International Trumpet Guild
International Tuba-Euphonium Association
Kapralova Society
Lyrica Society for Word-Music Relationships
MENC: The National Association for Music Education
Midwest International Band & Orchestra Clinic
Museum of the American Piano
Music Educators National Conference
Musical Instrument Technicians Association International
Music Library Association
Music Publishers’ Association
Music Teachers Association International
National Association of Band Instrument Manufacturers
National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instruments
National Association for Music Therapy
National Association of Professional Band Instrument Repair Technicians
National Association of Schools of Music
National Guild of Piano Teachers
National Music Publishers Association
National Piano Foundation
New York Brass Conference
Percussive Arts Society
Piano Manufacturers Association International
Piano Technicians Guild
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
SMT (Society for Music Theory)
Society for American Music
Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States
Society for Ethnomusicology
Society for Music Perception and Cognition
Society for Seventeenth-Century Music
Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America
THEODORE, Rosenthal Archives of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Woman Composer Question: A Bibliography
Women Composers Database
Women Conductors
Women in Music Resources
Music Resources
on the Web
Bach BibliographySpecial Collections in Booth Library
Cantus
Internet Music Databases & Projects
Chronicle of Higher Education - Job Openings
Medieval Music Database
Music Departments from the World Over
Music Library Association (MLA) Clearinghouse
Online Music Education Resources
Percussion instruments from Brazil and their sounds
Periods of Music History
RISM Home Page
Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
Each librarian at Booth Library is responsible for various subject areas. The librarian responsible for Music is Dr. Allen Lanham. His e-mail address is cfakl@eiu.edu or phone the Reference Desk at 581- 6072. If you need more help, PLEASE ASK.
