To Use the EIU Online Catalog
Try the Following Subject Headings for Materials about Women in Science:
- WOMEN SCIENTISTS
- WOMEN IN SCIENCE
See also other headings
beginning WOMEN:
- WOMEN ASTRONOMERS
- WOMEN BIOLOGISTS
- WOMEN CHEMISTS
- WOMEN MATHEMATICIANS
- WOMEN PHYSICIANS
- WOMEN PHYSICISTS
- WOMEN ZOOLOGISTS
|
See also other headings
beginning WOMEN IN:
- WOMEN IN ASTRONOMY
- WOMEN IN CHEMISTRY
- WOMEN IN ENGINEERING
- WOMEN IN FORESTRY
- WOMEN IN MEDICINE
- WOMEN IN PHYSICS
|
To Find Books Browse the Shelves in these Call Numbers for the following Subject Areas:
- R692-Women in Medicine
- Q130-Women in Science
To Define Your Topic and Begin Your Research use:
ENCYCLOPEDIAS and DICTIONARIES
-Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia
(2 vols. with classified list of biographical entries)
E185.86.B5421993 REF
E185.86.B5421993b STX
-Encyclopedia of World Biography (2nd ed., 17 vols.)
CT103.3561998REF
-Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia
(2 vols with classified list of biographical entries) DS115.2.J491998REF
-The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography (12 vols.) CT103.M27STX
To Find Articles in Journals and Magazines use
ABSTRACTS and INDEXES
Print:
-Biography Index (1946 to date)
Z5301.B5 REF
Look in Index to professions and occupations
;See: Scientists Names by discipline, e.g.
Anthropologists, Biochemists, Geologists
-Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1900 to date)
A13.R4 REF
;See: -Women Archeologists
-Women Geneticists
-Women Naturalists
-Women Scientists
-Women Studies Abstracts (1972 to date)
Z7962.W65 REF
See: -Ecofeminism
-Entomologists
-Feminist Science
-Physicians
-Physicists
-Scientists
Electronic Indexes and Abstracts
These resources are available to EIU students, faculty, and staff from
Booth Library's home page at http://www.eiu.edu/booth. Click Magazines, Journals and More to access these databases.
-General Science
Abstracts (1984 to present)
Select Science & Technology from the Resources by Subject list, then
select this index.
Use:
-Women Botanists
-Women Scientists
-Women Primatologists
-Women Chemists
-Applied Science & Technology Index (1983 to present)
Select Science & Technology from Resources by Subject, then select this index
Use:
-Women Engineers
-Women in the computer industry
-Women Mathematicians
-Women Oceanographers
-MEDLINE or PubMed (1960 to present)
Select Medicine & Health from Resources by Subject, then select this index
Use:
-Women Dentists
-Women Physicians
ELECTRONIC DATABASES with COMPLETE ARTICLES ATTACHED
-InfoTrac (1980 to present)
Access Infotrac from the General Article Indexes list
Use:
-Women in Science
-Women Scientists
-WILSON SELECT PLUS (1994 to present)
Access this database from the General Article Indexes list
Use:
-Women in Science
-Women Astronomers
To Find Articles in Journals and Magazines use:
-ARTICLE FIRST (1990 to present)
Access this database from the General Article Indexes list
Use:
-Women Scientists
-Women Chemists
-Grace Hopper (Name of specific scientist)
-PERIODICAL ABSTRACTS (1987 to present)
Access this database from the General Article Indexes list
Use:
-Women (and) Science
-Women Scientists
-Women (and) Engineers
SELECTED JOURNALS and MAGAZINES
-JAMA. The Journal of the American Medical Association (1963 to date)
R15.A48
-Journal of Chemical Education (1924 to date)
QD1.J93
-New Scientist (1970 to date)
Q1.N52
-Physics Today (1948 to date)
QC1.P658
-Science (1910 to date)
Q1.S35
Other Reference Sources
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Find other sources of information about your topic. They often give summaries of books as well as lists of materials on a particular subject area.
-Women in the Biological Sciences:
A Bibliographic Sourcebook
QH 26.W661997 REF
-Women and Technology:
An Annotated Bibliography
Z7963.T43B551993 REF
-Women in Science: Antiquity Through the Nineteenth Century:
A Biographical Dictionary with Annotated Bibliography
Q141.0341986 REF
-Women in the Sciences
Z7401.L14V.90-96 REF
-Who's Who of American Women:
A Biographical Dictionary of Notable Living American Women (3 vols.)
E176.W647 REF
International Biographical Dictionaries
-The Continuum Dictionary of Women's Biography
(Subject index)
CT 3202.C661989 REF
-Dictionary of Hispanic Biography
Subject and occupational index)
CT1343.D5311996 REF
-Dictionary of Scientific Biography
(18 vols.)
Q141.D5 REF
-The International Dictionary of Women's Biography
(Subject index)
CT3202.I571982 REF
-Lesser-Known Women: A Biographical Dictionary
(Index by name, country, and profession)
CT3203.G571992 REF
-Notable Women in the Physical Sciences:
A Biographical Dictionary
Q141.N7341997 REF
-Women in Chemistry and Physics:
A Biobibliographic Sourcebook
QD21.W621993 REF
-Women in Science: Antiquity Through the Nineteenth Century: A Biographical Dictionary with Annotated Bibliography
Q141.0341986 REF
General Biographies
-Biographies of Black Female Scientist (sic) and Inventors:
An Interdisciplinary Middle School Curriculum Guide
Q149.U5H33X STX
-Contemporary Women Scientists of America
509N66C JUV
-Her Way: Biographies of Women for Young People
HQ1123.K75 STX
-Journeys of Women in Science and Engineering:
No Universal Constants
Q130.J681997 REF
-The Lady Laureates:
Women Who Have Won the Nobel Prize
AS911.N90631986 STX
-Nobel Prize Women in Science:
Their Lives, Struggles, and Momentous Discoveries
Q141.B4211993 STX
-Science (Brief biographies of women who have made outstanding contributions to science)
509EM135S JUV
-The Triumph of Discovery:
Women Scientists Who Won the Nobel Prize
509.2D26T JUV
-The Two Thousand Women of Achievement
CT3235.T94 STX
-The World Who's Who of Women
HQ1123.W65 REF
SPECIFIC BIOGRAPHIES
To find information about women scientists in particular fields
Anthropology
-Margaret Mead, A Life
GN21.M36H691985X STX
-Mary Leakey: In Search of Human Beginnings
301.0921H3634M JUV
-Secrets Underground: Archaeologist Patty Jo Watson (videorecording)
CC115.W37S41995X.VID GREGG
-She Never Looked Back: Margaret Mead in Samoa
301.2EP85S JUV
-With a Daughter's Eye: A Memoir of Margaret Mead and Gregory Bateson
GN21.M36B381984 STX
Astronomy
-Cecilia Payne-Gapochkin:
An Autobiography and Other Recollections
QB36.G37A331984 STX
-The Harvard College Observatory:
The First Four Directorships, 1839-1919
QB82.U62C4 STX
-Rooftop Astronomer:
A Story About Maria Mitchell
520.92M242R JUV
Biology and Medicine
-DNA Detective: Molecular Biologist Lydia Villa-Komaroff (videorecording)
QH31.V54D61995X.VID GREGG
-A Feeling for the Organism:
The Life and Work of Barbara McClintock
575.1K281 JUV
-Great Women of Medicine
926.1H882G JUV
-Jackal Woman (wildlife biologist)
599.74P936J JUV
-Silicon Vision:
Computational Neuroscientist Misha Mahowald (videorecording)
QA76.2M34S511995X.VID GREGG
-Sympathy and Science:
Women Physicians in American Medicine
R692.M641985 STX
-Women Healers and Physicians
Climbing a Long Hill
R692.W6761997 STX
Naturalists and Ecologists
-Rachel Carson:
Witness for Nature
QH31.C33L4311997 STX
-Rachel Carson
574.092G564R JUV
-Rachel Carson:
Writer and Scientist
(Besides book includes timeline, poster, and teaching companion)
QH31.C33A44X1995 TXT
-The House of Life:
Rachel Carson at Work
QH31.C33B7 STX
Physics and Chemistry
-A Matter of Choices:
Memoirs of a Female Physicist
QC16.A34A31994 STX
-A Passion for Physics:
The Story of a Women Physicist
QC16.F13A31991 STX
-Marie Curie:
A Life
QD.C8Q561995 STX
-Marie Curie:
A Life
QD.C8G48131986 STX
-Lifting the Veil:
The Feminine Face of Science (biochemists)
Q130.S481993 STX
-Earth Explorer:
Geophysicist Marcia McNutt (videorecording)
QC805.M26E21995X.VID GREGG
-High Energy:
Physicist Melissa Franklin (videorecording)
QC16.F72H51995X.VID GREGG
-Jewels in a Test Tube:
Biochemist Lynda Jordan (videorecording)
P511.8.J67J41995X.VID GREGG
Women in Other Fields
-Women in Mathematics
QA28.0831974 STX
-Mothers and Daughters of Intervention:
Notes for a Revised History of Technology
T36.S731993 STX
-Entitled to Power:
Farm Women and Technology, 1913-1963
HD6073.F32U651993 STX
-Women Technology & Power
Ten Stars and the History They Made
HD6054.4.U6Z541987 STX
-Mothers of Invention:
A History of Forgotten Women and Their Unforgettable Ideas (inventors)
T36.V361988 STX
CHRONOLOGIES, TIMELINES & WORLD RECORDS
To find out specific dates or facts about women scientists
-Breakthroughs:
A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science and Mathematics, 1200-1930
Q125.P3271985 REF
-The Timeline Book of Science
Q125.O241995 REF
-History of Science in the United States
A Chronology and Research Guide
Q125.E451996 REF
-Landmarks in Science:
Hippocrates to Carson
Q125.D681982 REF
-The Book of Women's Firsts:
Breakthrough Achievements of Almost 1,000 American Women
CT3260.R4281992 REF
-Women's Firsts
(Table of contents has chapter on science)
CT3203.W661997 REF
-The 100 Most Influential Women of All Time:
A Ranking Past and Present
CT3202.F3951996 REF
HISTORICAL SURVEYS
To find Historical Information on Women Scientists
-Women Scientists in America:
Struggles and Strategies to 1940
Q130.R681982 STX
-Hypatia's Heritage:
A History of Women in Science from Antiquity Through the Late Nineteenth Century
Q130.A4811986B STX
-Uneasy Careers and Intimate Lives:
Women in Science, 1789-1979
Q130.U5251987 STX
-Women Scientists in America
Before Affirmative Action, 1940-1972
Q130.R6831995 STX
-The Mind Has No Sex?:
Women in the Origins of Modern Science
Q130.S321989 STX
-Women in the Origins of Modern Science
Q130.S321989 STX
-Women of Science:
Righting the Record
Q130.W671990 STX
-Creative Couples in the Sciences
Q141.C681996 STX
BOOKS ON THE FEMINIST CRITQUE OF SCIENTIFIC THEORY
To Find Feminist Criticism
-Women, Feminism, and Biology:
The Feminist Challenge
HQ1154.B51986 STX
-Myths of Gender:
Biological Theories About Men and Women
QP81.5.F381985 STX, QP81.5.F381992 STX
-Discovering Reality: Feminist Perspectives on Epistemology,
Metaphysics, Methodology, and Philosophy of Science
HQ1154.D5381983 STX
-Men's Ideas/Women's Realities
Popular Science, 1870-1915
HQ1426.M461985 STX
-Women, Feminism and Biology:
The Feminist Challenge
HQ1154.B51986 STX
-The Knowledge Explosion:
Generations of Feminist Scholarship
HQ1397.K631992 STX
-Primate Visions:
Gender, Race, and Nature in the World of Modern Science
QL737.P9H2451989 STX
-Science and Gender:
A Critique of Biology and its Theories on Women
QP34.5.B551984 STX
-Science as Social Knowledge:
Values and Objectivity in Scientific Inquiry
Q175.L6551990 STX
Feminist Criticism & Theory
-Simians, Cyborgs, and Women:
The Reinvention of Nature
GN 365.9.H371991 STX
-Feminist Thought and the Structure of Knowledge
HQ1154.F4481988 STX
-Feminist/Postmodernism
HQ1206.F4531990 STX
-The Less Noble Sex:
Scientific, Religious, and Philosophical Conceptions of Women's Nature
HQ1990.T821993 STX
Women in Science
-The Science Question in Feminism
HQ1397.H281986 STX
-The Death of Nature:
Women, Ecology, and the Scientific Revolution
Q130.M471980X STX, Q130.M471990X STX
-A World Without Women:
The Christian Clerical Culture of Western Science
Q130.N631993 STX
-Gender, Science, and Mathematics:
Shortening the Shadow
Q130.G461996 STX
-Evelyn Fox Keller:
Science and Gender (videorecording)
Q130.S351994X.VID GREGG
-Feminist Approaches to Science
Q175.5.F461986 STX
INTERNET SOURCES
These are recommended sources; however, you should carefully evaluate any information you find on the Internet.
-American Physical Society Committee on the Status of Women in Physics.
"Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics"
http://www.physics.ucla.edu/~cwp?
-Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
-University of St. Andrews, Scotland.
"History of Mathematics Archive"
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk:80/~history/index.html
-University of Wisconsin-Madison.
"Exploring Your Future in Math and Science"
http://www.cs.wisc.edu/~karavan/afl/home.html
ASSOCIATIONS
Association for Women in Science
1522 "K" Street NW, #820
Washington, D.C. 20005
Telephone: (202) 408-0742
FAX: (202) 408-8321
Email: awis@awis.org
WWW: http://www.awis.org/
Association for Women in Computing
41 Sutter Street, Suite 1006
San Francisco, California 94104
Telephone: (415) 905-4663
E-Mail: awc@awc-hq.org
Association for Women in Mathematics
4114 Computer & Space Sciences Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 10742-2461
Telephone: (301) 405-7892
FAX: (301) 314-9363
E-Mail: awm@math.umd.edu
WWW: http://www.awm-math.org
Society of Women Engineers
120 Wall Street
Eleventh Floor
New York, NY 10005-3902
E-Mail: hq@swe.org
WWW: http:www.swe.org
NEED MORE HELP?
Each librarian at Booth Library is responsible for certain subject areas. The librarian responsible for Women's Studies is Pamela Ortega. Her email adress is cfpfo@eiu.edu and her phone number is 581-6072. If you need more help, please ask!
|
Please refer to "Collection Location Guide" for Location of all materials
|
|